Lighthouses and National Historic Landmark Designation

A forum to discuss non-specific lighthouse topics. If a topic doesn't fit into one of the other forums, put it here.

Postby island » Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:08 pm

Of the 2442 or more NHLs there are only about 12 lighthouses included and about six lightships. Because there are so many lighthouses it is necessary for a nominated lighthouse to stand out among the many to be approved for NHL designation. It is a tough sell.

The criteria for NHL designation includes:
1-Sites where events of national historical significance occurred;
2-Places where prominent persons lived or worked;
3-Icons of ideals that shaped the nation;
4-Outstanding examples of design or construction;
5-Places characterizing a way of life; or
6-Archeological sites able to yield information.

(Item 2 has resulted in one-room shacks or the ground where they once stood receiving NHL designation.)

Anyone can make a nomination for NHL so the Dept. of Interior is probably inundated with such. The Landmarks Committee must review these and select a short list to then be reviewed by the Advisory Board that only meets twice each year to select a few for possible approval by the Sec. of Interior. This is why the process takes so long.

Consideration would be first in, first out, except when some senator or representative or other politically influential person attempts to intercede have their district's project jump ahead in the line, which probably happens quite often.
Lt. Commissioner
Posts: 2035
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 1:00 am

Return to General Lighthouse Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest