|

fresnel equations and relationship to fresnel lenses

Forum to discuss all areas of lighthouse technology such as optics, fuels, fog signals, radiobeacons, daymarks, construction, etc.

Postby plebetkin » Fri Apr 01, 2005 2:40 pm

I am studying the equations that Fresnel used/invented in his work on lenses. I'm interested in

(1) a simple explanation of the equations and

(2) how the equations transferred into actual lenses.

(3) Then, for the magazine that ALF is putting out for children in grades 5 and 6, I'm looking for photos taken by members of each order of lens. They will be published with full credit given to the photographer. We are going to have a two-four page spread on Fresnel lenses. The first part will be a matching contest to have the students try to match the order of the light in the individual pictures to the name of the order (first, second...etc). The next part of the spread will be the actual answers and a brief explanation of each type of lens.
good friends mean good times
plebetkin
Lighthouse God

Postby Optics » Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:52 am

Not an easy subject or easy mathematics to understand or explain. The best help to understand the various equations and how they applied to Fresnel lens design and their affect on the light itself is to obtain the video or DVD titled "Lighthouse Illumination Technical Edition" from Artworks Florida. This video was created by Dan Spinella and is an absolutely great technical reference. I think the Video and DVD are available through Lighthouse Depot.

Or contact http://www.artworks-florida.com
Thomas A. Tag

Optics
1st Assistant Keeper

Postby plebetkin » Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:45 am

thank you for your prompt response. I will certainly follow through. I have taken much information from the internet, and the math is certainly highly detailed and advanced.
plebetkin
Lighthouse God

Postby island » Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:44 am

Peter,
In response to your topic I offer the following thoughts: