|

St. Joseph Pierhead and Inner Lights

A forum to discuss lighthouses in the US Great Lakes Region
(Michigan, Wisconsin, Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota and the lake lighthouses of New York & Pennsylvania)

Postby mikev » Wed May 21, 2008 7:42 am

This is a photographic favorite, but now you can own it. These lights just became available under the National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act. I've posted the notice below.

And, actually, I wouldn't recommend ownership unless you're part of a non-profit organization, not an individual. I've been doing the nuts-and-bolts preservation job since 1985, and it's time and resource intensive. And as part of the community input into NHLPA and its implementation guidelines, I can assure you there's a hard look taken to make sure lighthouses go to the best possible stewardship entities -- municipal, non-profit or otherwise.

Here's the notice:

Subject: St.Joseph Pierhead & Inner Lights NOA & Fact Sheet Screening Notice :, MICHIGAN
Date: Tue, 20 May 2008 15:24:54 -0400 (EDT) Status: Normal

National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act - Notice of Availability

Title: St.Joseph Pierhead & Inner Lights NOA & Fact Sheet
City and/or County: St. Joseph/
State: MICHIGAN
File Name: St.Joseph Pierhead & Inner Lights NOA & Fact Sheet.pdf
Description: Two historic lights: 1) The pierhead light consists of white cast iron construction with a black cylindrical lantern on top. The tower height is 35 feet. 2) The inner light consists of a steel-framed fog signal building, with a hipped roof surmounted by an octagonal light tower. Overall, the structure is about 57 feet high from the base to the top of the ventilator ball. Both structures are situated on a pier.
For more information please contact the PR staff member listed in the Notice of Availability.

To view or download the notice, please click on the following link:

https://extportal.pbs.gsa.gov/ResourceC ... ticetype=4
Mike Vogel
Buffalo Lighthouse/ALCC

mikev
Keeper